American History and Civics Initiative: Washington, DC Pre-Proposal Briefing Attendees

Washington, DC Pre-Proposal Briefing Attendees

Dan Abrams

MassLight, Inc.

John Allen

Signature Communications

Rhonda Allen

Signature Communications

Andrew Aurbach

ASAA Multimedia

Sue Baldwin-Way

Director of Communications and Education
WITF, Inc.

Susan Bellows

Series Editor
American Experience

Julie Benyo

Education Initiatives

Sheila Bernard

Independent Filmmaker/Writer

Brian Chase

VP, Washington Operations
Space Foundation

Leah Clapman

Managing Editor
Online NewsHour

Kevin Clark

Assistant Professor
George Mason University

Cameron Clarke

President & CEO
VODIUM (Software/Communications)

Skip Coblyn

National Visionary Leadership Project

Carl Colby

Colby Films, Inc.

Ruth Collins

Education Coordinator
Achieve3000, Inc.

Jim Cortina

Business Manager
Cortina Productions

Maryanne Culpepper

Senior Vice President, Editorial Development
National Geographic Television and Film

Keith Deaven

Media Barn, Inc.
Media Barn specializes in designing customer experiences for broadband-enabled Web and desktop applications. We provide expertise in user interface design, visual design, product conceptualization and prototyping of a wide variety of software applications.

Ali DeGerome

Senior Producer
State of the Art, Inc.

Joan Desmond

Associate Producer
Fifth Avenue Productions

Eric Eggleton

Senior Vice President and Chief Content Officer
Maryland Public Television

Amy Fadida

Senior Vice President
VIACK Corporation

Bill Ferster

Director, Primary Access Project
Digital SchoolBook Project
University of Virginia
Curry School of Education

Mary Frost

Vice President
Frank Frost Productions

Tex Fuller

Tex Fuller Productions

Barbara Garvin-Kester

Core Knowledge Foundation

Joe Geraghty

Director, Television and Video Department
Close Up Foundation

Christopher Gergen

Vice President, New Market Development
K12, Inc.

Karen Goodwin

Fifth Avenue Productions

Claire Griffin

Vice President of Education Programs
Bill of Rights Institute
The Bill of Rights Institute is an educational non-profit whose mission is to help teachers and students better understand the ideals, values, documents, and individuals of the Founding era. We conduct our educational outreach through our website, curriculum supplements, and constitutional seminars for teachers.

Noel Gunther

Vice President, Learning Media

John Hale

Associate Director
Center for Civic Education

Barbara Halpern

Marketing Momentum

Carmen Hamilton

Graduate Student
The Pennsylvania State University

Jody Hasset

Pointy Shoe Productions

Richard Hezel

Hezel Associates, LLC

Glen Hoptman

Publisher/Executive Producer
The Lightbeam Group and Studio

Jack Hurley

Vice President for Broadcasting
The Newseum

Craig Impink

Vice President
Foundation & Government Development

Sonny Izon

PBS Producer/Director
ICT, Inc.

Karen Jaffe

Manager, Education Projects
MacNeil/Lehrer Productions

Mary Kadera

Director, Digital Education

Eugenia Kemble

Executive Director
The Albert Shanker Institute

Karen Kenton

National Programming

Ira Klugerman

Executive Producer/VP
Educational Film Center

Rachel Kramer

Director of Curriculum and Instruction
Higher Achievement Program

Joe Krushinsky

Vice President, Development
Maryland Public Television

Ron LaRussa

Director, WGBH Interactive

Kenneth Lee

Secondary Schools Department
National Catholic Educational Association

Sharon Leon

Research Assistant Professor
Center for History and New Media, George Mason University

Sharron Love

Senior Instructional Designer
PerformTech, Inc.

Malkia Lydia

Kuyamba, Inc.

Tor Manders

MassLight, Inc.

Layla Masri

Bean Creative: Funktional Web Design

Mark McLindon

Swerve, Inc.

Susan Mills

Director of Program Development
MacNeil/Lehrer Productions

Brian Moore

Rolling Stock Pictures

Katie Moran

PerformTech, Inc.

Karen Morison

Senior Vice President
Civic Enterprises

Sanjay Patel


Paul Peck

Paul Peck Institute for American Culture and Civic Engagement, Montgomery College

Thomas Phelps

Division of Public Programs
National Endowment for the Humanities

Maura Daly Phinney

Blue Vista Productions

Ana Post

Director of Partnerships and Program Initiatives
National Council for the Social Studies

Robert Rupp

Professor, History & Political Science
West Virginia Wesleyan College

Richard Russo

Campaign for the Civic Mission of Schools
Council for Excellence in Government,

Steven Schupak

Vice President, Content Enterprise
Maryland Public Television

Phyllis Slade Martin

Director of Education
National Visionary Leadership Project

Paul Sparrow

Executive Producer
Newseum Productions

Naomi Spinrad


Barry Stoner

Sr. VP/Content Development
WITF, Inc.

Melanie Tacoma

Major Grants Coordinator
Bill of Rights Institute

Tam Taylor

Director of Public Relations
Center for Civic Education

Holly Taylor

Development Coordinator
Tiger/Tigress Productions

Mila Thomas

Director of Strategic Initiatives
International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE)

Rachel Ward

Member Services Associate
Association of Public Television Stations, Grants Center

David Witzel

Managing Director, Business Growth
Forum One Communications

Ben Wood

Director of Development
National History Day

Jennifer Woods

VP, Development
JA of the National Capital Area, Inc.

Gerardine Wurzburg

State of the Art, Inc.

About CPB

CPB promotes the growth and development of public media in communities throughout America.

Programs & Projects

CPB awards grants to stations and independent producers to create programs and services.