A board of directors with up to nine members governs the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, sets policy and establishes programming priorities. The president of the United States appoints each member, who, after confirmation by the Senate, serves the portion of a fixed six-year term that remains after confirmation. The board, in turn, elects its own officers each year.

The board officers and members listed below are those who were serving as of May 15, 2013, the date of this Fiscal Year 2012 Annual Report.

Patricia Cahill, Chair, is retired general manager of KCUR-FM, the public radio station at the University of Missouri–Kansas City, where she currently serves as an assistant professor of communication studies. In public radio for 40 years, she worked earlier as a reporter, producer, program director, news director and general manager of KMUW-FM at Wichita State University. She has served on the board of directors of NPR and as chair of its Distribution/Interconnection, Membership and Development Committees. She was also president of Public Radio in Mid America and vice president of the Kansas Public Radio Association. Outside public media, Ms. Cahill serves on the board of directors of Goodwill of Western Missouri and Eastern Kansas. She also served as a court-appointed special advocate for Jackson County, Mo., as well as secretary of the board of directors of Catherine’s Place—a home for recovering women and their children—and chair of the board of directors of Wichita Free University. (Confirmed August 7, 2009; term expires January 31, 2014.)

Elizabeth Sembler, Vice Chair, is a Jewish educator who is the director of engagement at Congregation B’nai Israel in St. Petersburg, Fla., and the director of Kesher, a Jewish after-school program for students at the Hebrew-language Ben Gamla Charter School in Clearwater, Fla. She serves on the board of advisers of the Davidson School of Education at the Jewish Theological Seminary in New York and on the board of directors of the Academy Prep Center of St. Petersburg in Florida, a privately funded middle school for students qualifying for needs-based scholarships. She received the Edward N. Ludin Young Leadership Award from the Pinellas County Jewish Federation in 2003 and the Federation’s Educator of Excellence Award in 2009. From 2001 to 2010, she was director of Jewish studies at the Pinellas County Jewish Day School. Sembler has served on the board of Tampa’s community-licensee public television station WEDU-TV since 1993 and chaired that board from 2001 to 2003. From 2006 to 2008, she served on the board of trustees of the Association of Public Television Stations, a nonprofit group that supports the continued growth and development of a strong and financially sound noncommercial television service. (Confirmed October 2, 2008; term expires January 31, 2014.)

David H. Pryor is a former state legislator, congressman, governor and U.S. senator from Arkansas. He served as founding dean of the Clinton School of Public Service in Little Rock and as director of the John F. Kennedy School of Government’s Institute of Politics at Harvard University. Since 2009, he has been a member of the board of trustees of the University of Arkansas, and he is a co-founder of the Barbara and David Pryor Center for Arkansas Oral and Visual History at the University of Arkansas. (Confirmed September 29, 2006; reappointed and confirmed October 2, 2008; term expires January 31, 2014.)