Corporation for Public Broadcasting Presents Senator Richard Lugar with its 2015 Thought Leader Award

Feb 23, 2015

Washington, DC (Monday, February 23, 2015) -- The Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB) today announced it presented the Honorable Richard G. Lugar with the “Strengthening Civil Society” Thought Leader Award at the 2015 Association of Public Television Stations (APTS) Public Media Summit in Washington, D.C.

“Senator Lugar’s decades of service and leadership in promoting civil discourse globally and his continued support of access to high quality media through public broadcasting have been invaluable to our country,” said Patricia Harrison, president and CEO of CPB. “Public media shares his ideals that a well-informed, educated and civically engaged public leads to a stronger democracy and greater good for all Americans. We are honored to present him with the CPB Thought Leader Award.”

Throughout his career, Senator Lugar has recognized the value of public media’s education and journalism services to our nation. As Mayor of Indianapolis, Lugar was instrumental in the founding of WFYI Public Media, and during his 36-years in the U.S. Senate, he supported funding for public media and recognized the role public media content can play in public diplomacy. In 2013, President Obama named Senator Lugar a recipient of the Presidential Medal of Freedom. The Senator is now the President of The Lugar Center, a non-profit organization committed to fostering bipartisan governance. He also serves as a Professor of Practice and Distinguished Scholar at the School of Global and International Studies at Indiana University, and senior transatlantic fellow at the German Marshall Fund of the United States.

The Corporation for Public Broadcasting’s Thought Leader Award series recognizes and honors American leaders who affirm the essential services that public media provides to citizens in areas of education, journalism, and the arts. Previous winners of the Thought Leader Award include Senator Susan Collins, author and veteran Wes Moore, actress Anna Deavere Smith, and Governor and Homeland Security Secretary Tom Ridge.

About CPB

The Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB), a private, nonprofit corporation created by Congress in 1967, is the steward of the federal government's investment in public broadcasting. It helps support the operations of more than 1,400 locally-owned and -operated public television and radio stations nationwide, and is the largest single source of funding for research, technology, and program development for public radio, television and related online services.

Categories: Award