Library of Congress Gershwin Prize for Popular Song 2016: Smokey Robinson

This 90-minute special pays tribute to singer-songwriter Smokey Robinson as the honoree of the seventh Gershwin Prize for Popular Song in 2016. The program featured Robinson performing and tributes by Aloe Blacc, Gallant, CeeLo Green, JoJo, Ledisi, Tegan Marie, Kip Moore, Corinne Bailey Rae, Esperanza Spalding, The Tenors and BeBe Winans, with a special appearance by Berry Gordy, founder of Motown. Samuel L. Jackson hosted the program and Greg Phillinganes was music director. Taped November 16, 2016, the program aired on PBS February 10, 2017.

Total CPB Investment: 


Made Possible by CPB's: 

Arlington, VA


Arts & Culture