The Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize for American Humor 2015: Eddie Murphy

The Mark Twain Prize for American Humor, an annual award for leaders in comedy, was awarded to Eddie Murphy in 2015. This 90-minute special features comedians Dave Chapelle, Kathy Griffin, Arsenio Hall, Brittany Howard, George Lopez, Sam Moore, Tracy Morgan, Kevin Nealon, Trevor Noah, Jay Pharoah, Joe Piscopo and Chris Rock. It was taped at the Kennedy Center on October 18, 2015, and aired on PBS on November 23, 2015. The award marks the 18th anniversary of the Twain Prize and the 16th time the program was seen exclusively on PBS. Social media promotion included pre-, during and post-broadcast including on, Facebook, YouTube, and Twitter. Web exclusive video of interviews with the honoree and talent are distributed through these platforms and on comedy and entertainment blogs.

Total CPB Investment: 


Made Possible by CPB's: 

Public Broadcasting Service
Arlington, VA


Arts & Culture