David Letterman Receives the Twain Prize

November 13, 2017

Mark Twain Prize

Receiving the Mark Twain Prize, David Letterman gets direction from longtime stagehand Biff Henderson. Photo courtesy of Scott Suchman

Late-night funnyman David Letterman was feted by fellow comedians Bill Murray, Jimmy Kimmel, Steve Martin, Martin Short, Jimmie Walker and Amy Schumer as he received the 20th annual Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. The ceremony airs, with support from CPB, at 8 pm Monday, November 20 on PBS stations across the country (check local listings).

David Letterman: The Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize

The award was created in 1998 by The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, Mark Krantz, Peter Kaminsky, Bob Kaminsky and Cappy McGarr to recognize humorists who have had an impact on American society in ways similar to Samuel Clemens (aka Mark Twain).

Also featured in the ceremony were Letterman’s longtime bandleader, Paul Shaffer, announcer Alan Kalter and stagehand Biff Henderson; Norm Macdonald and John Mulaney. For more information, go to http://www.pbs.org/mark-twain-prize/home/