Awards for Contributions to Public Media

The Corporation for Public Broadcasting recognizes outstanding contributions to public media in several categories. The Ralph Lowell Medal honors outstanding contributions to public media; the Edward R. Murrow Award recognizes individuals or organizations whose work has fostered the growth, quality, and positive image of journalism on broadcast and digital platforms; and the Fred Rogers Award recognizes outstanding contributions in the field of children's educational services. CPB’s special Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes outstanding contributions to public media over an extended period of time.

The CPB Community Lifeline Award shines a spotlight on public media stations that have provided exemplary service to their communities during local emergencies, natural disasters and other urgent situations. The CPB Thought Leader Award is given to American leaders who affirm the essential services that public media provides in education, journalism and the arts.