Public Media Reporting Collaborations Shine in RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards

August 16, 2022

National Edward R. Murrow Awards

Led by innovative, wide-ranging reporting on threats to democracy, race, and the pandemic, public media won or collaborated on 38 2022 National Edward R. Murrow Awards, announced on August 12 by the Radio Television Digital News Association to recognize outstanding journalism. Public radio won 34 of the 48 radio categories, led by NPR with six awards.

Close to a third of public media’s award-winning works were the result of partnerships and collaborations, including statewide public media organizations Florida Public Media and Texas Standard, the daily newsmagazine of Texas.

“These awards affirm the quality of the work that public media journalists do every day and the importance of collaboration as a force multiplier,” said Kathy Merritt, CPB senior vice president, Radio, Journalism and Community Service Grant Services. “CPB is proud to support this public media journalism.”

PBS’ FRONTLINE won three awards, all for collaborative efforts: for American Insurrection (with ProPublica and Berkeley Journalism’s Investigative Reporting Project); for its continuing coverage of The Insurrection and Extremism in America, (with ProPublica); and for Un(re)solved, a CPB-supported multiplatform project telling the stories from the Emmett Till Unsolved Civil Rights Crime Act. FRONTLINE partnered with Northeastern University’s Civil Rights and Restorative Justice Project, StoryCorps and Ado Ato Pictures, Retro Report and PRX, on the web-based interactive, serialized podcast, augmented-reality installation, and documentary.

UN(RE)SOLVED: True Stories of Unsolved Cases | FRONTLINE

PBS NewsHour won a national Murrow Award for “On Our Minds with Noah and Zion,” a podcast about youth mental health for and by teens, from the CPB-supported Student Reporting Labs in partnership with WETA’s Well Beings mental health public awareness campaign.

National Edward R. Murrow winners will be honored at an October 10 gala in New York City. Public media winners by category:

Television Network

Radio Network

Large Market Radio


Small Market Radio


Large Digital News Organization


To subscribe to CPB spotlights, press releases and grant announcements, go to